Scientists say that junk food is harmful to people's health. Some say the way to ask people to eat less fast food is to educate them, while others say education does not work. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that the consumption of junk food has increased at a fast rate overtime. A certain segment of the society believes that people can be convinced to eat less junk food by educating them; However, a counter-argument is that education cannot work in teaching people about the hazardous effects of junk food. Both the arguments should be properly investigated before reaching a conclusion. The first school of thought claims that educating people about the devastating effects of junk food can reduce their use. According to them, the lack of awareness is the reason why people eat junk food. Moreover, people do not know about the harmful ingredients such as salt, water and fat which are used to produce junk food. Use of such ingredients enhances the risk of heart attack and diabetes. It is often believed that Obesity is also one of the main health problems caused by the consumption of junk food. Almost every junk food craver has become prey of obesity. Avoiding junk food is the door towards a healthy life. If people have been warned about the bad effects, which can be done by the use of advertisements shown on television as well as in newspapers. The opposite side of thought, however, deems that educating people to limit the consumption of fast food may not work because it is very cheap, tasty and readily available. After a hectic work day, youths instead of cooking food at home they prefer to order junk food online. Therefore, junk food is very expensive and loved by children. Processed food outlets spend a large amount of money on advertisements to lure youngsters. People do not realise that the popular actors they use in their advertisement hardly ever eat such food themselves and if they do so, they spend hours in the gym to stay fit by a ard core workout. After analyzing both sides of the arguments, I believe that educating people can certainly work. However, these food outlets must be educated to make junk food healthier by limiting the use of preservatives. Strict rules must be laid down against the use of fatty acids. Moreover, whole wheat bread could be used instead of white bread. Use of artificial additives should be lessened and juices could be served instead of carbonated drinks. In the end, it can be concluded that although junk food is harmful, people still eat it. Lack of time and knowledge is the main cause of it.