Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree?

It is true that passive smokers can have almost the same effect as actual smokers. While people are aware of the side effects of smoking, the realisation only sets in much later in life when the body starts reacting adversely to the sustained damaged the habit causes. In this essay, I will emphasize the harmful effects smoking has on people and how these substances should be banned for good. The smoke that travels through the air from the smoker to the non-smoker, has forms of chemicals and gases that can enter into the lungs that can be as detrimental as smoking. While, the smokers may directly inhale the nicotine, the people standing around may also end up inhaling other chemicals. Most countries have realised the damage this can cause and hence banned smoking from all public places. For instance, during C-19 pandemic, countries like Spain have banned smoking across all public places because researches have identified that the fumes may carry the coronavirus particles which can cause further widespread. It is recorded, that smoking is worse than drug addiction and this causes cancer. For instance, sustained usage over the years can impact other organ failures and also give rise to other diseases. For example, 30% of the world population die of lung cancer due to smoking. The treatment to cure oncology patients is still very expensive and this puts pressure on the government every year to come up with better health schemes. Government has started collected higher taxes however, this has not discouraged the smokers and they continue to fund these habits as normal. To sum up the discussion, I would like to reiterate, that usage of substances that has tobacco as an ingredient is harmful not just to the person consuming but also to the family and friends accompanying them. While this industry is highly profitable, a ban is a must but at the same time, an alternate source of income for these workers have to be created which will save lives and make the world a much cleaner place.