In some countries people rent accommodation while other buy their own houses. Does renting accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages than buying place?

There is no denying that rental or own property is a controversial matter that has been discussed for several experts in finance from our society. Some investors claim to buy a house is not a good deal because it would be a liability instead of an asset, once it only generates expenses. Other people say that to have your own residence is the best choice because you will have a place to live regardless of what could happen. From my own standpoint, I believe the benefits of having a residence are greater than the drawbacks. The first benefit, in my opinion, is that you could have a financial problem, such as to be unemployed, and you would not have this expense, in other words, you would not have to pay the rent. Moreover, we know that law is pretty strict to people who do not pay their lease and the landlord would require his property back if you do not pay your debts. Consequently, there is a high risk to be without a home to live if you have to face financial problems. Another advantage is that we could rebuild the apartment to fit better your needs. Furthermore, when you have your own place, we can choose your own furniture and paint the rooms choosing the colours you most like. When you live in a rental building your option is pretty limited due to the reason you will have to return the realty exactly the way you found it. Another benefit of purchasing is that you will not need to leave the house in case the landlord requires you to do that. A disadvantage of being the owner is that if you want to live somewhere else you might have to sell the one you already have first, in this way, you could afford to purchase another home. For example, there are apartments where your neighbours do not respect you and make a lot of noises during the day and night. In this case, if you decide to leave because you cannot deal with them anymore it will be more difficult and it would be tougher than if it was a rental. To sum up, in my view, the benefits of buying a property are much better than to rent one. Obviously, in case do not have money to afford a house the only option you will have is to rent one. However, even knowing you could invest this amount of money and gain high profits from it, to have your own place is a safety that assures you will have a roof to shelter when you become elderly.