Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development? (approximately 250 words)

It is true that in a globalized world with multilingual societies, some major languages are spoken more popular rather than others. While this phenomenon can bring many benefits to the advancement, I think the detrimental effects are significant as well. On the one hand, speaking a few common languages has many perks. Firstly, knowledge of languages is one of the crucial measures to facilitate communication and allow people to better understand the cultural and social activities of the society. The use of some popular languages can minimize the borders between people and therefore the quality of conversation could revolutionize when people can connect and interact with each other, as well as the international connection and the ability to travel to different places. Secondly, with a better insight between different nations, the global economy and trade could easily expand in different countries and develop further by the convenience of finding contacts, forming contracts, hiring employees, and opening branches. For instance, Mandarin Chinese is one of the most widely spoken languages in the world with more than one billion native speakers so speaking Mandarin Chinese is the perfect window into its market, which eases enterprises to perform various functions and commercial activities in the world's largest economy. On the other hand, despite many positive impacts, there are some negative ones as well. Language is the most powerful instrument for preserving and developing the tangible and intangible heritage of each culture. The decline in the use of minority languages could make the historical, spiritual, and ecological knowledge of their cultures forgotten or disappear. For example, many plant names in the Amazon cannot be changed from indigenous languages to others because each one has its origin or meaning. Another downside is that overuse of some popular languages could cause others to become extinct. A language is considered to be in danger when it is no longer inherited between generations and is not actively used in everyday life. Many countries strive to preserve their mother tongue, as, in the case of Ireland, the government for many years has been required Irish students to learn Irish Gaelic and encouraged it to be spoken, but despite those attempts, this language is still classified as endangered. In conclusion, although the dominance of some major languages could bring many benefits for globalization, the governments and the people of each country and each locality should work in the management of the protection and conservation of the native language as national heritage towards global development in harmony with the beauty of the linguistic diversity.