Having different languages makes it difficult for people of different nationalities to communicate with each other. It would be better if there was only one language in the world What are the advantages and disadvantages of everyone in the world speaking the same language?

It is thought by some that varied languages make it tough for people from different countries to understand each other, so they believe that it would be ideal if we all share singular language globally. I think there will be enormous disadvantages then advantages if we attempt this because many cultures around the globe will be lost and travelling and exploring the world will become monotonous. One evident advantage of having a singular dialect around the world is that people will be able to understand each other easily. Furthermore, due to this commonality trade between the countries will improve and so will the economies. Moreover, while travelling it will be easy to communicate without getting lost in a foreign place. To illustrate an example, when I went backpacking to Japan, I got off at the wrong train station and there was just nobody to guide me and the road signs in Japanese didn't help me either. On the other hand, having a common language will be more disadvantageous. Firstly, it would mean that all the other languages which existed would disappear and along with it their cultures. Secondly, since there will be no diversity left, travelling will get very boring. Every culture is unique and its perspective which will completely disappear. This will also result in the collapse of the tourism industry. This will have a direct impact on the economy of a lot of countries which depend entirely on tourism. In conclusion, while there plus points to having one global language, too much will be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be a priority to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.