In many places, new homes as needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

New housing is needed in most cities; however, the only available space for construction is in countrysides. Due to this concern, it has been argued that people should not be building new homes in those areas as these lands need to be protected. In my view, the outskirts of cities do indeed need to be protected because building housing there would affect local wildlife and would ultimately cause more pollution. For one thing, in order to expand cities, countrysides and farmlands need to be destroyed. In most cases, these lands are grazed and deforested to make space for new houses and facilities. As a result, local wildlife is unfortunately affected as they lose their natural habitat. For example, when the city of Rio de Janeiro expanded due to overpopulation, a new suburb called Barra was created where swamps and forests were destroyed. Consequently, crocodiles and other tropical animals lost their homes. For another thing, growing a city in the countrysides would result in more air pollution. This is because even if people build their homes in the country, they will most likely end up working in the city due to job opportunities, which means they will have to commute daily by car or bus. In fact, most major cities such as Mexico City or Sao Paolo face serious traffic congestion, and residents deal with severe smog concerns since workers are commuting hours daily. Even though there are more sustainable means of transportation these days, the number of vehicles on highways would definitely increase. In conclusion, since building housing can negatively affect the environment and local animals, I believe that more housing should be built in major cities instead.