In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a partuclar time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Considering today's society and the increasing of violence on the streets, parents have to pay more attention to what their teenagers are doing. In some regions of the US, a reclusion time has been imposed for teenagers, which should be accompanied by an adult, otherwise, they are not allowed to be outdoors. While some young might consider this an authoritarian approach, I considerably believe that this action will prevent their involvement into illicit, as well as a more useful can be done with this time. Although most of the teenagers would say that they have grown to distinguish what is right or not, when it is related to the unknown or new, they might not consider all the pros and cons of their actions. Adults involved with drugs and alcohol have probably started this involvement when they were still young, so prevent this contact as much as possible is a way to prevent problematic adults. In fact, some researchers have shown statistics, in which 89% of the adults’ dependency started in the teenagerhood. Many teenagers claim that they do not have time to do anything else, besides studying and/or working. However, the hours that they spend out of the house, especially at night, could be addressed to something that is more valuable for their future. As an example and motivation, parents should consider performing activities together with them, such as, playing some instrument, teaching or learning another language. In summary, the imposition of a 'curfew' is an approach of society in order to protect the young. Therefore, trying to decrease the statistics of teenagers dealing with drugs and alcohol, hence, avoid problematic adults, I firmly believe this alternative is worth it and should be considered.