Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, people tend to have more years of studies and also have more access to theory. Some specialists say that students have learned about facts and have insufficient practical abilities. Other people say that the current schools` syllabus is excellent and there is no necessity of changes. I strongly tend to agree with the former. From my standpoint, schools should invest more time in developing practical skills. Firstly, companies have demonstrated through surveys the lacking of knowledge of their employees in the daily routine. However, it shows the fact that individuals have acquired learning through theory and do not understand how to convert it in practice. For example, numerous people do not know how to work as a group because they were only prepared to deal with difficult tests. Secondly, research has shown that workers who have participated in junior companies have a greater ability to solve problems and also are more creative in finding solutions. For this reason, schools should find a balance between concept and practice because it could motivate learners to use their imagination. Last, but not least, to learn only through facts could be extremely exhausting and children tend to feel disappointed and think they do not keen on studying. One clear example is the method that is used in Singapore which has students with higher marks in mathematics in the world. Their secret is to use concretes to assist the theory, in this way, students understand the concepts and are unbelievably successful in this subject. To sum up, as I see it, to find a balance between learning facts and practical skills are the key of having motivated students who are going to have the best scores and also become excellent employees.