In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this present world, people who travel from one city to another always wish that the trains become faster extremely so that the travelling time gets reduced and want fresh railway lines to be created. On the contrary, there are others who say the current public transport should be enhanced so that it facilitates more people and improves safety. In this essay, I will talk about both the views and my opinion in the conclusion. Firstly, people who are frequent travellers always want to spend less time on travel and they want huge investments to be done in this sector which could help in the development of bullet trains. For example, Japan has laid multiple railway lines for super fast trains as a result, people are easily able to move from one place to another in a few minutes of time. The reports of accidents are very minimal after years of service. Therefore, if large spendings are done for further creation there is no reason for second thoughts. Secondly, people who live in countries where the railways have many existing issues and want the authorities to resolve them first. For instance, India till today has witnessed a series of train accidents in which thousands of humans have lost their lives. In this scenario, citizens would first want the government to focus on improving the current condition of railways instead of investing in fast trains as safety comes first. Thus, it's correct for people to say that the money should be used for the betterment of existing public transportation. To conclude, the decision solely depends on the prevailing situation of public transport in that particular country. Hence, in my opinion, if a country has public transportation which is safe and free from issues then investment to further develop the system is acceptable. However, in countries where the transport system has still not reached the safety standards should first actually increase spending in the creation of safer transportation for the people then the focus should shift towards modernising it.