In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

There is currently a contentious argument whether teenagers should be allowed to be on their own at night. I agree with this opinion because teenagers are not always capable of taking the best decisions, and in addition there are too many people with bad intentions and teenagers could be an easy target for them. The main reason why I think that curfew should be imposed is because teenagers do not always think of the consequences of what they are doing. For instance, I had a high school friend who thought it would be nice to do night -hiking all by himself. He got lost, felt and broke his arm. It took a while before police could find him. This is a typical situation where the presence of an adult would be critical to avoid this occurence, because the adult would certainly advise against doing that activity at night or at least he would make sure they were using the right equipment considering the visibility conditions. Another reason I support that teenagers must be accompanied by an adult is because they can be easily lured and tricked by criminals. A good illustration to this would be the scenario in which a teenager is approached by a drug dealer during a night walk. The drug dealer will try to sell his drugs by lying about all its harmful effects. At some point, even if the teenager initially refuses, the criminal will harass and intimidate the teenager forcing him to buy the drug. This would probably won't happen if an adult was walking with the teenager. On the other hand, some might say that each parent has the right and freedom to trust their sons and daughters, giving them the opportunity to learn by themselves. That is under the assumption that they will educate them about the dangers and risks. In conclusion, I believe that imposing a curfew more advantages than disadvantages because even though the parents try their best to educate about all the dangers, the risks of letting their sons and daughters on their own during the night are too big and definetively definitively not worth it.