International tourism has become more popular in recent decades. However, this can have a considerable impact on the countries which attract large numbers of visitors. What positive and negative effects does tourism have on countries which are popular destinations?

Touristry and hospitality industry has grown immensely worldwide in the past decade. The two main reasons for the increase in tourism are, some people consider vacations as social status and few people visit places out of curiosity. However, the increasing number of tourists has its own merits and demerits which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, many small countries like Thailand, Bali, Vietnam, Hong Kong etc., depends on tourism which is a major contributor to GDP. Hence, these countries waive off the visa restrictions and welcome people around the world to visit them. Secondly, people's spending capacity has increased over the years and they prefer to spend time with their family in a new country as it gives them immense relief from the work pressure and daily routine. In addition, many tourist agents and hotels offer a variety of budget-friendly packages, which attracts customers. All these factors lead to the development of touristry contributing not only to a country's economy but also creating new job opportunities. Thus, a surge in the number of tourists have a positive impact as millions of people's livelihood depends on it. In contrast, some people view the hike in tourism as a threat to any country as it leads to various problems such as rise in pollution, drugs, sex-trafficking etc., For instance, a research article published by Human Welfare Society of Thailand states that many children and young women in Thailand are forced sex-workers. Furthermore, it is also reported that criminal and drug activities are rising owing to the upsurge in tourism. Governments should have stern policies and punishments for people violating the law and take a stand against sex-trafficking and drugs. To conclude, many people's livelihood depends on tourism industry but we should also consider the fact that there is a surge in illegal activities because of the same. Hence, the government should learn to maintain a positive balance so that the negative aspects of touristry can be reduced.