SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT A SENSE OF COMPETITION IN CHILDREN SHOULD BE ENCOURAGED. OTHERS BELIEVE THAT CHILDREN WHO ARE TAUGHT TO CO-OPERATE RATHER THAN COMPETE BECOMES MORE USEFUL ADULTS. DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Some controversy arises between people who defend that children should be inspired to be partners with others and those who defend that competition must be promoted among them. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and explain why I would argue that people should learn teamwork since the earliest age. The most noticeable argument supporting the promotion of a competitive mentality in children is that life is a competitive environment, so kids would be better prepared for adulthood if used to deal with challenges. People who grow up familiarized to disputes tend to have better performances in many different jobs, like sports or finance. Another reason for the encouragement of rivalry is that the results of such an education might be useful for adults facing diseases. Researches demonstrate that besides ordinary medical treatment, people with combative mindsets tend to have better outcomes when fighting most forms of cancer. In contrast, a strong case for those who defend a teaching method focused on cooperation is that fewer adults are self-sufficient, therefore working in a team is a common ground for many. Since professional duties like project management or advertisement are usually based on teamwork, educating children to assist each other seem a better form of preparing them for adult life. Many collective arts often require a strong sense of partnership too. For instance, an individual cannot play every single instrument in an orchestra at the same time, but a whole team is needed to do that. In conclusion, even though adult life is full of examples of how having a competitor-like mindset is important, most people’s duties are better performed in groups. In my opinion, teaching children how to co-operate is extremely more important than encouraging competition, so they may grow up better prepared to work together with others when adults.