People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

The issue of crime rate reduction is crucial for many countries as well as what sentence is better to apply. Some people believe that if criminals spend more time in prison, it will reduce crime. However, others say that there are several better solutions to this problem. As a society representative, I strongly support the second point of view and see social changes as a more powerful tool to reduce crime. On the one hand, as criminals spend more time in prison there might be a lower possibility that they will be able to commit a crime again. Such long sentences, when a person spends years of his or her life in prison, may stop others from doing illegal actions. On the other hand, the opponents of longer sentences say that bettering quality of life and changing punishment for some crimes are more effective. As an example of strict punishment could be used some of the USA states where capital punishment is allowed. The knowledge that for the most violent crimes, a person could be sentenced to death might be rather efficient in preventing illegal actions. Moreover, the development of the social sphere and improvement of life level have a positive influence on the declining crime rate. For example, in the UK policemen usually do not have guns as the criminals do not have them too and the most common is the stealing of things of a different kind. Thus, social development is highly important in violent crime reduction. To conclude, I think that by providing people with a good level of life, when everyone has a chance to get medical help, education, paid job, and a place to live, the number of crimes could be minimized. That point of view has been already more or less proved by industrialized countries.