Some people feel that entertainers (e.g. film stars, pop musicians or sports stars) are paid too much money. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

There are those that argue that performers receive excessive amounts of cash as their remuneration. I disagree, individuals with such notoriety are one in a million who fought for the chance to be in the limelight and showed that they are the best in their industry. Firstly, artists and sportsman go through a rigorous selection process which includes years without any income. They had to face adversities like almost becoming homeless and work as waiters or cashiers just to make ends meet. For example, the footballer Messi worked for 3 years as a cafe attendant before he was accepted in F.C Barcelona. Therefore, these individuals deserve every accolade with all the benefits like paid endorsements. Secondly, the notoriety of a person is not something that they control but is the perception of the general public. Thus, the market decides the artisans value not the individual themselves. For example, Alia Bhatt who is a renowned actress in India who recently got caught in a money-laundering scandal which in turn completely destroyed her market value. The actress who used to make 1 million dollars per film started making 2 hundred thousand per film. So, We see that they have no control over their market perception which can fade away with a few wrong words. In conclusion, I believe that the suffering and pain they go through because of the rejection they endure on a daily basis is much more than any other normal profession. As such, we notice that fame is something that could disappear with a single wrong action. This is why it is my opinion that these actors and the like deserve their massive paycheck.