Universities should allocate the same amount of money to students’ sports activities as they allocate to their libraries. Do you agree?

Some people believe that sports activities require an equal amount of funding as the libraries while in my conviction, libraries necessitate more budget than physical activities area because they are used by mostly all the students and its resources need to be renewed regularly. Firstly, the library is the place which is required by a major fraction of the students while sports activities are used as per students’ interest which will be in a smaller number. Having said that, students use libraries for multiple purposes like reading, research, using the internet and for journals too, all of these need more facilities and sitting arrangements provided with better internet services and electricity. Considering all these expenses it demands more money than any of the other sections. For example, The survey conducted by one of the Universities in Japan observed that almost 85% of their students use the library for different tasks. Moreover, the resources used in the library for study and research requirements to be updated on the regular basis which again requires funding periodically, on the other hand, types of equipment for sports and coaches need only one-time investment which can be managed with the initial allocated money for that section. For example, magazines, newspapers, audio-video disks, books all these things have to be the latest according to the students’ demand. In conclusion, The allocation of money can not be the same for sports and libraries as the usage of library and updating resources frequently need a major portion of the budget than the physical fitness area.