The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be resolved?

Nowadays, the overweight gain has become a growing issue and causing detrimental effects on people's health. The biggest culprit for the overweight is the consumption of unhealthy food and this can be resolved by raising the tax for fast food and beverages. In modern days, people are tied up in their busy schedule and don't have enough time for having homemade healthy meals and as a result, they end up having a toxic diet regularly. This type of fried meals and sugar drinks contain fat, sugar and cholesterol in the major fraction which causes the weight to gain negatively. Moreover, this kind of weight gain can cause diseases like obesity and cardiovascular. For example, last year the survey done by The New York Times depicted that almost 80% population of the United States suffer from the obesity issue including all the generations due to their overconsumption of the fast food every year. In my view, this issue can only be fixed by increasing the tax percentage on the purchase of unhealthy cuisine and drinks. By this, people will less often tend to buy these products for saving their money, resulting in consuming the street meal occasionally. For instance, Japan government increased by almost 10% of the duty for the candies and chocolates for children's health benefits and it decreased its selling by almost 30% which is a great number. This example states that the consumption of unhealthy food is inversely proportional to its price. To conclude, the ongoing problem of rising in overweight people in the society is mainly due to eating fatty foods and can be solved by the increment at the net price with slight changes in the tax structure.