With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

In recent years, it is undoubtedly the case that the families around the world, increasingly suffer from divorces and family separations. In the essay, I will discuss a few of the reasons for this phenomenon and provide few options to overcome it. To begin with, one of the prominent reasons for a couple to get separated is the expectations from each other. In other words, married people expect plenty of things from their partner and if in case the other person is not able to match them, a fight erupts. For example, if in a family both husband and wife work, then a question comes up that who will take care of children? Who will cook dinner? Since there is no alignment in their thoughts, they can fight on some pretty small things or let's say almost anything. Another important reason because of which people get divorced is financial constraints. If the earning member of the family is not able to earn or save enough for fulfilling basic family needs and spends lavishly on himself, the partner does not have any other option than to move out of that relationship. The above examples detail some of the causes, due to which people do not wish to live in a relationship. There are two effective solutions to surmount this divorce problem. One way to tackle this is to go for a pre-marriage counselling. Here a psychologist can try to explain the nitty-gritty of marriage. It will also help people to know each other well before marriage itself. If they do not find their spouse compatible, they can part ways here itself, saving themselves from the agony later on. Similarly, married couples can also take help by means of marriage counselling and give a second chance to their troubled relationship. The other way is to talk openly with the partner without any prejudice regularly and try to explain your point-of-view. As a result, by following above mentioned approaches, both partners can understand each other better and can try to live together happily. In conclusion, the current family breakdowns are caused by the plethora of expectations and couples can take help from a psychologist, who can help them to understand each other better and live happily.