Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antartic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Traditionally, there are many places that receive people from all over the world and usually, they are the destination of most tourists. But there are few locations which are not that favoured due to their climate and have been attracting travellers, however, this type of trip has sparked a controversial debate about whether the outcomes are more positive and negative. Though, from my point of view, the negative aspects outweigh the positives one. Firstly, the obvious argument against it is that tourists could put their life at risk. Take Sahara as an example, desert’s inhabitants have evolved to survive harsh conditions, scarce water and barren landscapes. However, in this type of expeditions usually, travellers will have to climb mountains, to face freezing or scorching temperatures, raft in turbulent rivers, etc… Furthermore, they also could have severe injuries, and difficulty to find assistance, such as doctors or hospitals. Another drawback to going to inhabitable or hostile places is that, conversely of those which attract more people, they do not have proper circumstances that are usually associated with tourism. For instance, in Antarctica, there are no cities, no towns, no hotels, no railroads, no roads, and no resorts. There are, however, some advantages. To illustrate, tourists can observe extraordinary and memorable views, and nevertheless, there are several types of lives that only live in remote areas, they will have the privilege to experience an outstanding challenge that they will take with them forever, and they will achieve something that few people in this world has achieved. To sum up, despite the fact that are some positive aspects related to travel to a place where have tough conditions, nonetheless, the drawbacks have been shown more significant, once you can have serious issues or even lose your life.