Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the evidence of advertisement can be seen in the high rate at which popular commodities are being sold and not based on what the society needs. I totally agree, and will explain why I think that advertising has increased sales even in areas where they are not needed. The main reason these companies have recorded a rise in the items sold, is because most, if not all companies and their advertising subsidiaries are profit oriented. These come in different forms, such as; video, bill boards and pop-up ads on electronic devices. These corporations want to make more money on a daily basis and in turn, the main aim of the advertisement is to make people buy more. One of the biggest multi-national firms in the world, Coca-Cola, for example has the best promotional video and each time I watch it, I always imagine how refreshing the product would be. Even though, at the moment, I do not need it, there is this unexplainable desire for a cold soft drink (Coke). This however, makes the consumption of said beverage excessive, and then leads to dieases like diabetes mellitus. On the other hand, the society is in need of many more important things that are not being promoted on the T.V. or anyother media outlet because they do not encourage the exploitation of the masses. Take free education for instance, it is needed urgently in many poor nations but yet, it is not made available to the less fortunate. Although, bodies like the World Bank, have embarked on several projects to educate citizens of poorer countries, big firms are in the best position to do it but are not doing it because it does not promote their market indices. An advantage of free education, would be the increase in the ability for most people to read and understand what is written on any advertised good and or service, and know whether it will be detrimental to their health or improve it. In conclusion, it is, in fact, true that advertisement makes people buy more things because these companies are only interested in making more profit. Nevertheless, a necessity in the society, such as; free education will make everyone less naive when deciding what to purchase.