The continued rise in the world´s population is the greatest problem faced by the humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The steady increase in the global population has become a major issue faced by mankind. In my opinion, several factors, including the growing aging demographic and the high birth rate in developing countries, exacerbate and accelerate this ongoing problem. Nevertheless, humanity faces greater problems – the fight against climate change and the worldwide reduction of CO2 emissions. First of all, the global medical infrastructure and hygiene standards have significantly improved over the last decades. With the help of innovative drugs and vaccinations, diseases and viruses can be successfully eliminated. For example, the vaccine for Covid-19 had a huge impact on containing the virus and preventing infection. Therefore, the mortality rate decreases, and the population gets older every year. Furthermore, the birth rate in developing countries has surged due to limited access to birth control. However, humanity encounters tougher problems, which include climate change caused by the gradual increase in CO2 emissions. As a result, the whole planet is exposed to heat waves, droughts, floods, and devastating storms, which have killed thousands of people each year. Unfortunately, the number of natural disasters has significantly increased over the last decade and worsens each time, resulting in billions in damages. If governments do not implement necessary measures to reduce CO2 emissions, mankind will face disastrous and irreversible consequences, including death and famine. To conclude, the population is rising due to better medicine and hygiene standards; however, the fight against climate change is currently the greatest challenge humanity is exposed to.