Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

Some assume that violence depicted in the media has a direct impact on levels of violence in society whereas others think that it is the output of social problems like unemployment. Although the high number of the unemployed population gets associated with different types of crime nowadays, the scenario was quite different 20 to 30 years ago when movies and drama used to reflect sober and gentle subjects. Therefore, I strongly believe that what we are watching on TV and theatres has a serious impact on the people around us, the rationale for which will be presented in the below paragraphs. Firstly, children seem to act as they see and hear. When a teen boy from his tender age becomes used to watching violent subjects on TV, his mental growth gets affected. Moreover, whenever the boy faces any challenge in his personal and professional life, he chooses bad learning as a weapon to solve this. For example, by a survey conducted among Tihar jail, it comes out the 83% prisoners were introduced by crime in their tender age through Bollywood mainstream violent movies. Therefore, this is apparent that the cinema which inspires crimes are detrimental to society. Secondly, more and more mainstream movies are selecting sensual subjects which are misguiding whole society. Moreover, this type of depiction is responsible for different kind of sexual violence like an increasing number of rape, divorce, domestic violence. For instance, with the introduction of sexy dance numbers, India has experienced an increase in rape victims which can easily be described as the output of the movies. To conclude, I want to say although we do not see the influence of media in our life, it actually drives us to show a certain type of activity. In older days, directors and writers were more cautious to select a topic to inspire people to the right set of behaviours, which should be maintained now by them now as well.