Some people believe that the government should financially support retired people. Others feel that those who have retired should pay to support themselves. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

A government is made by the support of people. Few believe that retired people ought to be supported by the government, financially. While others don't support this argument. I, partially agree to the former view. The public servants of a country are the basic building blocks for its development. They play a vital role in the progress and prosperity of the country. The contribution made by them is innumerable. For instance, the payscale at which the job is performed is very less. As a result, the government can use these extra funds for better purposes. The meagre savings of these employees can cause adversity in their life after their retirement, considering the years they can work, meaning they will need financial aid from the firm which they work for. On the contrary, there are corporates which pay their employees hefty salaries to get the job done. People working for such 'big fishes' get all the luxury during their work life. The former workers manage to commute to their workplace in public transport whereas, the latter can afford their own transport. New businesses and huge savings are very likely to be owned by the latter after their retirement. This category might not need any assistance from the companies they worked for in the late 60s of their life. In conclusion, Financial assistance after retirement should be granted for certain types of employment and not for all types. The payscales at which each person worked can be a determining factor for considering pension schemes.