People from cities go to universities more often than those who live in the country. Some people think that the government should make it easier to enter universities for people who live outside of cities and towns by setting lower entry requirements and tuition fees. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, more people are entering higher education than ever, yet not all have equal access to it. Someone with a rural background has a lower chance of studying at university than their peer living in the city. I fully agree that the government should aim to eliminate this disparity. The first reason for lower university attendance among rural applicants is the quality of secondary education. Children living in less populated areas have a more limited choice of schools. As a result, they are more likely to achieve lower grades in the final school exams, which may affect the outcome of their university applications. If their entry requirements were set lower than for children from the cities, these young people would have a better chance of being admitted to university. Even when the entry requirements are met, students from more remote rural areas may find it harder to afford their studies. Indeed, a household income outside of the cities tends to be significantly lower, while the university tuition fees are the same for everyone. Without any doubt, the government should set lower tuition fees for students from lower-income rural areas. Some people may claim that more favourable conditions for rural students would be unfair to city students. After all, they may have to pay even higher tuition fees to cover the discounts received by others. Some of them may not ger a place at university at all, while other students with lower grades get offers simply because of their address. Although these are valid concerns, I think that the advantages of positive discrimination for students from rural areas are more significant for society than the potential drawbacks. To conclude, the university admissions system puts students with rural background at a disadvantage. I, therefore, agree that the government should introduce lower entry requirements and tuition fees for applicants from the country, thus giving them an equal chance to study at university.