The increased use of text messaging using mobile phones is larely to blame for falling standards in written English, particularly among young people, many of whom are unable to construct grammatically correct sentences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Quality of English have reduced drastically among young people owing to the rise of new features in mobile phones and laptops such as auto-correct, spell check etc., In today's world, mobile phones have become a necessity and the majority of youngsters use it for messaging their friends and family on daily basis. There is a growing culture where teens started using short cut messages and abbreviations to express various emotions. However, I completely agree with the statement that, this is impacting the standard of English in society. Almost majority of the people are using social applications like Whatsapp, Facebook, Snapchat etc., As these are informal platforms for communicating and socializing with new people, they forget to follow proper grammar or spellings in their conversations. However, these people think that the objective is to make the receiver understand, hence, the correct usage of English is unnecessary. This may look small but the impact of these actions are huge. For example, I have personally used shortcuts and auto-correct features for my text messaging for years together, thus forgetting the spelling of simple words. I realised this when I was attending an interview for an MNC where I was asked to write an essay on a sheet of paper. I suffered a lot to write and at last, did not get the offer either. Finally, I realised the impact of this habit in my career, therefore, disabled all the auto-correct features in gadgets and started to concentrate more on my English. In another hand, some people think that these features help us to convey the correct message without any effort. They think all the innovations are developed to ease human life. Hence, it is completely fine to use all the application for our betterment. In conclusion, it depends on how we perceive it. Nevertheless, I strongly suggest the youngsters utilize their own language skills for sending messages or mail which not only helps them to maintain the English quality but also to hone their skills.