Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children are the future of society and by nurturing them in a proper way, our future society will be sustainable. Some would say that kids should be encouraged to become competitive while others prefer to teach their offsprings to be more co-operative. In this essay, we will discuss how competitiveness could help in the survival of the fittest scenario or co-operation could aid in becoming broad-minded persons. To begin with, our surrounding is usually harsh and we need to struggle every day in different ways to achieve something. To clarify, we need to compete with our counterparts every day to gain something and no one usually give nothing for free. Considering this fact, if we could raise our future generations as competitive, then they could overcome life struggle and become victorious at the end. For example, in school, most of us were taught about different challenging scenarios in life and how to overcome them so that when we really face those situations in our lives, we would not break down and could come out as top. However, many people believe that if we could teach our kids to become co-operative rather than being competitive, then our lives would be much better. Moving on to the next part, co-operation can teach someone to live with everyone and not become selfish. Moreover, it is usually believed that competitiveness creates self-obsessive persons and they end up tearing up the world for their own benefits and there are a lot of examples in history. However, it is proved many times that those kids who were taught to help others and to grow together, they usually end up reforming societies and often they are considered as great human minds. For example, in the army, it is always taught to help their fellow soldiers on the battlefield, because without co-operation, no war can be won. Nevertheless, it is commonly believed that war is nothing but a fruit of competitions only. To conclude, competition and co-operation may have some pros and cons but personally, I believe that the pros of co-operation weigh more. I would suggest that the institutions and parents should teach more about being co-operative rather than competitive.