Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

In this day and age, art surrounds us, people in every location, without us being aware of it. Although, it is argued by some individuals that states subsidies that are provided to art -practitioners are a misspend of money. I strongly disagree with this mindset. From my standpoint, the practice of art has played an essential role in shaping and nurturing society and culture. Thus, it should be seen as a sector worth investing rather than a social burden. Firstly, one major reason that art -creator should receive governments' patronage is that rapid social development and modernizing is causing the loss of the tradition value worldwide. Moreover, monetary incentives could assist the arts to be conserved and revived. For example, in Brazil, we have many festivals that receive investments from the private and public sectors. For this reason, they still exist, and in my opinion, they are unbelievable huge thanks to sufficient investments. Secondly, art is an incentive for tourism. Foreign visitors tend to explore traditional arts who prefer to listening to certain typical musical or watch a festival that only that country has. Take as an example the carnival in Brazil, that motivates people from all over the come to travel and watch it. It goes without saying, the more monetary incentives are granted to art enthusiasts, the more tourism is promoted. Last but not least, the art has existed as long as the man has. Therefore, arts are crucial to the existence of human beings because they are responsible to shape our ideas and provide us with a deeper understanding of our emotions, self-awareness, and more. To conclude, as I see it, there are clear benefits of investing in the conservation of arts, and contrary to what some people say, it is not a waste of money.