Some people think the best way to solve traffic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A particular issue about traffic congestion has raised quite a concern at home and abroad. Some people consider that traffic congestion can be solved by providing public free public transport around the clock. In my opinion, saying that traffic jams could be addressed by giving citizens free public transport not only carries a wide range of weaknesses, there are also other countermeasures in this respect. On one hand, offering people free public transportation might solve problems to some degree. Citizens will be more willing to take public transportation and thus decrease the number of individual cars, which may lead to a slight drop in traffic incidence. Nonetheless, providing free public transport day is only a passive way to address traffic conditions. For one thing, it is not rational to have buses and trains shuttle among cities. These public transportations not only carry bigger traffic problems among citizens but also cause more unnecessary energy waste, which may trigger even more serious problems than traffic congestion. One the other hand, there contains a broad spectrum of better countermeasures to deal with traffic conditions. For example, a well-designed urban planning system can be seen as an efficient prescription to address traffic congestion. Governments need to program a good transportation network or schemes to cope with traffic issues, such as instituting a bicycle scheme may increase people's willingness to ride bikes, the program will not only lessen the problems of traffic jams but also reduce the emissions of greenhouse gases exhausted by transportations. Moreover, leaping up both people's physical and mental situations as well. In a nutshell, although promoting free public transportation may seem to be a way to solve traffic problems. However, there are more efficient measures to achieve the purpose, ranging from setting a well-designed transportation network to instituting a well-planned bicycle scheme.