Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

It is suggested that there should be a single day every month on which no personal vehicle is allowed on the road. There are both pros and cons to this situation. Firstly, this essay will look at the advantages, then, we will look at the other side of this suggestion. Discussing the advantages, the biggest is that the emission of hazardous gases in the environment will reduce to some extent. We know that lately, the emission of greenhouse gases has caused the problem of global warming and climate change. Following the aforementioned, at least for a day, this can be reduced. Furthermore, there will be saving in fuel consumption. This means that the number of conventional petroleum products we use will last longer. Moreover, no personal vehicle will result in lesser traffic, eventually a reduction in accidents. On the contrary, there is a drawback too. Since the unavailability of a personal vehicle, to do their regular work, people will have to use public transport. For example, in India, metro cities like Mumbai and Delhi, where public transport is already crowded even though no such implement has been made. In that case, for one day, the Government will have to arrange extra service. Besides, in the emergency, one may not prefer public transport or wait for help to arrive. This requires some alternative arrangements for using a vehicle in an emergency. In conclusion, there is undoubtedly an effect on public comfort for a day however, on the bright side, this implementation will surely be beneficial in the long run.