Some people think that it is good for younger people to make their own decisions. Others feel that these decisions should be made with the help of their parents. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Decision making is an important part of growing up. Few people think that its better if young people come to their own decisions whereas some others believe that they should be made with the support of their grown-ups. This essay will discuss both sides and will also show how important it is that younger people come to their own stand regarding different aspects of life. Life is unpredictable and at times, requires spontaneity in making up one’s mind. A young person should be able to think and make informed decisions in order to strengthen his mind and also develop into an independent adult. For example, it is good to start with trivial things like what to wear, what to eat, what kind of friends to make and then mature on to bigger things as to what course to take up at the university level. Some others, however, feel that parents should play a key role and help in making decisions. This can be especially true when delving into something completely new which can have a profound impact on one’s life. For example, choosing a life partner is typically where young people turn to parents for their opinion because they have experience in handling such matters. Often parents want to safeguard their young from the bad elements of the society. For example, a parent may forbid his daughter from going out at night. In my opinion, though, a young person should be allowed to make his own decisions as it helps in becoming more responsible and independent. To conclude, while some people believe that youngsters should make their own decisions, others think that they should seek their parents’ help.