Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Gasoline is the fuel that powers our modern society. Up to 70% of the oil extracted from the planet meets transportation needs. Some people think that whether a rise in petrol price can efficiently decrease traffic congestion and pollution. I disagree with the statement. This essay will discuss why the surge in fuel prices results in serious drawbacks to our society and provide possible solutions such as usage of solar power, wind power and hydropower. To begin with, there are two primary drawbacks of this decision. Firstly, if petrol prices arose then the transportation of various goods in market will definitely go up because the majority of the businesses depend on the import of goods from other countries by trucks, sea, and buses needs gasoline. Secondly, health issues will arise due to stress which negatively impacts the populace. For instance, recently, research conducted by Harvard University revealed that if the cost of oil and gas increased then 75% of individuals can not afford the transportation which will further cause mental stress and depression. On the other hand, there are many possible solutions that authorities can take to reduce traffic jam and pollution. The most sustainable energy sources are solar function, wind power and hydropower that can be utilized to run vehicles and factories. Thus, the emission of greenhouse gases and carbon monoxide will be reduced by their implementation. Furthermore, It helps to decline the rate of gas usage and ts more environment friendly. To illustrate, Japan used solar panels to run vehicles and wind power to generate electricity for the household. This will not only saves money of the people while it is eco friendly and encouraging for people to use public transit. Though, renewable sources play a vital role in the environment maintenance and reduction of traffic. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that the cons of increasing traffic overweigh the pros. Hence, I am strongly against the idea of increasing gasoline prices. Although people should limit the usage of their own transport and take initiative to advocate others to do the same.