Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views on sustainable development. While some people argue that it is impossible to simultaneously succeed in economic development and environment protection, I believe that we can achieve both targets. On the one hand, there are many reasons why it can be argued that economic targets cannot be achieved without causing environmental problems. Perhaps the principal reason is that in order to meet the growing demand for energy, tapping of natural resources seems to be the most feasible solution and such activities unavoidably pose serious risks to the fragile environment. For example, when we discover a source of oil in a place, we might have to cut down all the trees in that area if we want to exploit it. Another reason is that the environment could be affected by the industrialization, which any developed countries have to undergo. Clearly, carbon emissions or waste are inevitable results from production processes of factories and industrial zones. On the other hand, I am of opinion that we can develop our economy and preserve the natural environment at the same time. Firstly, if the government heavily invested in alternative energy sources, the over-dependence on fossil fuel could be reduced and this allows us to maintain our development while decreasing the level of environmental contamination. For example, Oman which used to be completely dependent on non-renewable energy now mainly uses environmental-friendly energy such as solar power for their industrial activities. Secondly, it is evident that countries which develop a service-oriented economy are not only rich, but their environment is also friendly and stable. Sweden, for example, has a robust economy, thanks to putting an emphasis on protecting its natural habitats and developing tourism. In conclusion, I would contend that by taking justifiable measure we can attain both economic achievements and environmental sustainability, although some people assist in rejecting this worthy aim.