Advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent you agree or disagree

In today's fast-paced world, advertisements play a major role in promoting upcoming and newly released products. The different creative ideas put forth to attract the young, mainly children and teenagers. However, some people feel that these need to be banned. Over the years, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of ads targeting children because advertisers are aware that kids are the centre of nuclear families. Most of these ads are aired in the evenings when children are back from school and sitting in front of the television.Children are easily manipulated by adverts which coaxes them to buy the products. For instance, toys and chocolates are sold at very high value in the market. The creative ideas and attractive colours are delivered in a way that children pester the parents to buy products. Another reason to restrict ads, is the various stunts performed in commercials are dangerous and are imitated by children leading to injuries that may be life-threatening. Ads also promote unhealthy fast foods which lead to obesity and other health-related problems. For example, the Dominos pizza and KFC ads. However, some ads are not bad. Actually, some ads promote good habits in children. For example, brushing teeth twice a day and hand washing at regular intervals imbibes good habits in children, when aired during prime time. To sum up, most ads targeting children are overly promotional and have a negative impact on children. So, the Government must ensure they are not aired during the prime time and good habit ads in the evening.