Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that the most significant environmental issue nowadays is the loss of biodiversity (particular species of plants and animals) while others oppose it by stating there are many major environmental concerns. In my opinion, I agree with both views owing to the reason that no environmental issue can be considered as less important. Firstly, the extinction of rare plants and animal species is a great deal of loss to this world. Most of the plants that held enormous medicinal values had wiped out from the earth due to the human activities which occurred in past. In the early days, people hunted animals as a sport without concerning the true value of them. To maintain the balance of the world, there should be humans as well as other animal species even though they are rare or not. For example, excessive usage of DDT (a pesticide) to exterminate mosquitos eventually lead to the death of cats on an island which then substantially increased the mouse population there. The fact that there are more noteworthy environmental problems are rising is true. One of the most concerning issues is global warming which is connected to a number of other detrimental effects on the earth. People have been logging a lot to increase timber production to use in various areas of construction while it aids the desertification. Another most adverse environmental problem is ozone layer depletion that caused an increase the skin cancers in people whilst it hindered the growth of the plants. In conclusion, both biodiversity loss and other environmental problems should be given the same attention because all of them are interconnected in unimaginable ways. The best way to protect this world is to change everyone’s mind and get together to help save the world.