Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent.

The issue of whether or not the young generation should be taught how to be a good guardian is a matter of concern for many. Critics argue that children have more important things to learn about at that age, should not be given a lesson on parenting, however, I believe the opposite. This essay will discuss my opinion on why it is useful to teach children parenting earlier and the skills required to be a good parent, by using examples from the Student Union Magazine and Fostering Council UK. To begin, the main reason why youngsters should be educated on how to be a good mother/father is two-fold, firstly, it can help young ones in the future when they become a supervisor to a baby. Secondly, the new generation will be able to comprehend their own parents. It is undeniable that subjects such as Science, Maths and English are building blocks of education, however, learning how to take care of a kid is also an important part of life. To illustrate, a research study published by Student Union Magazine in London, interviewed guardians of 13-17-year-olds to discover their thoughts on grooming their kids on parenting. Surprisingly 75% of the parents agreed, on the basis that children will understand their own care takers and will see them in a different light. Furthermore, the qualities required to be an expert parent include having a sufficient source of income. Take the UK for example, according to a study done by Fostering Council UK, there has been a 15% rise in parents abandoning new-borns, as birth givers are unable to provide and manage the needs of the baby. For this reason, it is highly crucial to have a stable earning before being a parent, as children have greater needs. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe school pupils should be enlightened on how guardians look after a child and with greater knowledge they will learn the responsibilities that come with becoming a parent.