Some people believe that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Information gathering and assimilation is the cornerstone of every major civilisation. It is a common belief that it takes too long to educate an individual starting from getting a diploma to a college degree with just the theory about a subject and not developing the hands-on experience required. I agree, in this essay, we will talk about the two main reasons why there needs to be a shift towards practical training and policies that need to be implemented from an elementary to postgraduate level. Firstly, nowadays teaching is just about building your physical career prospects and making people book smart to pass written exams. Therefore, in the process, not enough emphasis is given on getting real-time training through apprenticing with a senior employee or teacher and solving problems that they can see in the world. For example, in Waterloo institute of engineering,there is a mandatory one year training period where students are required to work in companies that can add to their career profile and learn what it takes to succeed in the job market. Thus, we need to encourage young adults to acquire data and insight on how they could succeed in their respective industries by going for internships before graduating. Secondly, at an elementary level, there is a need to learn how to perform basic functions that would be useful to them as an adult like cooking, maintain a bank account and change the oil of a car. When a student gets out of school and goes to college they tend to suffer and make terrible life decisions which could have been avoided if it were instilled with the right information early on. For example, in the USA they teach students how to fix vehicles and home science as well as other important life skills early on. Therefore, if we move towards implementing these policies it would be a boon to every person who wants to enter the market as a successful candidate. In conclusion, these changes would revitalise the work market and bring more skilled personnel into the world. Therefore, by giving a child the opportunity to gather the wisdom and prudence which is needed in their life by going for camps and interning at the right places imbibing them with simple skills to change the world.