Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Although science and high technology promote the whole world’s development to some extent, people who work for a rt field are still valuable and irreplaceable. There are various rare and precious merits that cannot be substituted by technology. First of all, arts function as an album which conveys a country’s development of culture and history. By using various forms, such as poems, music and paintings, to record significant events in a specific period of time, contemporary people are more likely to learn knowledge about their ancestors which helps them to develop a sense of identity. For example, a well-known novel, called Jane Eyre, vividly depicts people’s countryside life in the eighteenth century in the United Kingdom whereas it is unachievable to science. Apart from that, arts play a key role in evoking people’s empathy and emotions while it can never be realized by artificial intelligent gadgets. This means that by appreciating some masterpieces of arts, people are able to respond emotionally towards different topics and thus they would acquire their own understandings and thoughts on arts. By contrast, technology can only improve people’s life quality related to materialism instead of spirits. To sum up, although technology has a positive impact on people’s life, it could not play a role as the arts because for arts, it could not only help people to know some information in the past but also touch people by using attractive paintings, documentary novels or impressive music. Consequently, the spiritual world for people could be highly improved by artists.