‘For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Nowadays, extracurricular courses like sing and learning to play a musical instrument is gaining increasing popularity, for it is believed that kids’ mastery of a musical instrument is of the same importance as their literacy. However, I take the view that kids’ literacy is more important than their ability to play a musical instrument. There is no doubt that mastering a skill of musical instrument helps children foster their understanding about music, for example, in terms of the origin of songs, rhythm, lyrics or feelings. When a child plays Beethoven’s songs on the piano, he or she may acquire social information behind the piece of music, feel the beautiful rhythm, and experience feelings overflowing in it. In addition, his practice of playing the musical instrument can develop a child’s musical talent and further turns his hobby into a profession, which paves the way for his or her career prospect. However, since not all the kids have a gift in music, it is not practical for all children to acquire a skill of playing a musical instrument. By comparison, youngsters’ literacy is a survival skill. This skill is essential because it enables their acquisition of information and guarantees personal development. To be more specific, compulsory subjects at school, for example, English or History lessons, require students to have a basic command of reading and writing to read passages, present opinions, or draft essays. Because of this, basic literacy is important for every child to complete studies and graduate from schools, which further his or her career development, like understanding the requirements listed on job advertisements before filling job application or exchanging emails with customers. Therefore, I presume that children’s reading and writing skills outweigh their mastery of musical instruments in consideration of their education or career development.