Machine translation (MT) is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans.

Nowadays, we are witnessing incredible progress in numerous various industries. Especially we can notice that technologies of language translations have developed a lot, especially the instantaneous speed of this process, therefore from my point of view, I do not agree with the statement about the slowness of machines. Whereas, it is absolutely true that automatic translators are very weak and are not capable of replacing a person, due to they are not able to take into account the context, get lost in the words of homonyms and are not able to take into account the cultural characteristics of speech. On the one hand, automatic translators are very useful and capable to solve a lot of problems, as well as simplifying and speeding up the translation process. For instance, having moved from Russia to Hungary, I faced the problem of choosing products or searching for information on websites that are available only in Hungarian - when just the general meaning is important, such a translator is an ideal assistant, besides, it perfectly translates official documents written in a very competent language. On the other hand, when we need a more serious and correct translation, nothing can replace a specialist. Illustrating this, there are many homonyms and a machine is not able to understand them, and thus when translating the Russian female name “Nadezhda” we get the English word “hope”. In addition, only a person who is familiar with the language culture and the country as a whole is able to correctly adapt the text, avoiding misunderstandings and possible conflicts. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that that machine translators are very fast and useful assistants for simple tasks, but they are not able to perform more difficult features and their texts need to be additionally corrected. Finally, it could be even more time, as a complete translation by a linguist. Looking towards the future, it is no doubt a given that in alignment with the current course, technologies will continue to evolve and maybe someday they will be able to compete with a real person.