Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are key to reducing traffic accidents. Others however believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely believed that punishing those who commit driving offences could decrease traffic accidents. However, there are some people that believe that other strategies will be more effective when improving road safety. It is true that special measurements can boost people awareness, thus, increasing road safety. This essay will describe why some people think that punishments can reduce traffic accidents and why others argue that other measurements could increase road safety. On the one hand, some people rely on strict punishments to create awareness to avoid traffic accidents. What I mean by that is that in some countries, once some people commit a driving offence, depending on the severity of it, they might face fines and in the worse scenario they can lose their driving licence. These punishments will create awareness on them and perhaps next time they will not repeat or do a new infraction. This method is proven to work effectively. For example, when kids do something wrong, as a punishment they are not allowed to do what they want or what they like. Consequently, they are likely to avoid doing the same mistakes again in the future. The same happens with adults, as punishments can encourage them not to do the same offences again. On the other hand, the occurrence of traffic accidents can fall if other measurements are in place. Sometimes accidents happen not because of human mistakes, but for the quality of the roads and highways. Often times, they are not wide enough or do not have the correct surface to deal with car traffic. As a result, car accidents are more common and more infractions occur. In addition, if the government provides training, workshops and strategies to educate people in matters such as how to drive safety or how to avoid risk while driving, it will boost road safety significantly. The local governments should take control of the road quality, speed limits and patrol spots along the roads. In conclusion, from my perspective, although punishment could work to solve the problem, I believe that other measurements could contribute more and have a better outcome. Therefore the government should pay more attention to this matter.