Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Nowadays, marketing generates a face-value of any organization. Due to this, many big corporations always dedicate huge budgets for promotions and as a result of which people gravitate towards buying their goods. In this essay, we will analyse the ill-effects of such marketing strategies and will provide certain possible solutions to overcome the problem. Undoubtedly, marketing is a valuable domain for any business, the sole reason for this lies in the fact that it not only incentivise the sales of any commodity but establishes a connection between a brand and consumer. Albeit, we can observe that advertising is about highlighting qualities of a product yet it often fails to deliver proper information to their clients. For example, seasonal sales of baby oil may lure parents to buy the product at a 0% discount without checking the ingredients which result in causing allergies to their toddler leading to customer dissatisfaction. On the contrary, if the authorities aim at educating the people about their goods or services, it will yield better results. For instance, The Health Ministry in India has initiated a program where customers are requested to check the FSSAI license(Food Safety and Standards Authority of India) before buying any edible product. Furthermore, accelerating the idea of weekly organic farmer's markets in the society will not only make the farmer families self-sustainable but also enable the consumers to make healthy choices besides, these activities should be promoted at a national level. To conclude, I would like to mention that rather than spending big amounts on advertising, companies should focus on the quality of their products and bringing transparency, as such steps could generate a recurring customer base. Also, it is equally important to comprehend the consumer mindset and requirements with the changing times.