In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meeting. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The workplace environment has drastically changed over the last few decades, wherein the emphasis is now on ensuring the quality of output, without compromising on personal life. Due to the advancements in communication technology, the way employees interact with each other has shifted from sitting together in a meeting room to virtual sessions. In my opinion, there are several benefits to this and the essay will discuss the details along with supporting arguments. First and foremost, such a shift in the trend has enabled teams situated in different time zones to get together on a new project for their company without the need for any physical travel, resulting in immense cost-saving. For example, the central product development team of a multinational FMCG company based in Europe can continuously interact with the marketing team in India over digital communication channels to modify their new item according to the local market. Moreover, this advantage not only made sure that the final product is developed faster but also reduced the cost of research required for that particular item. Furthermore, the effectiveness of the technology ensures that the interactions, tasks and progress are continuously mapped and recorded to achieve increased efficiency. As a result, online discussions getting more common by the day, the need for a single large office is getting obsolete. For example, a company can enable their workers to sit in co-working spaces in their hometowns instead of leasing big office space and getting them to relocate. However, losing physical touch with their colleague can lead to a feeling of loneliness and detachment in humans. In conclusion, whilst some might prefer face-to-face communication and advocate its benefits, I strongly believe that the advantages of the mentioned new trend far outweigh the disadvantages. If a majority of discussions are done virtually, the companies can not only save on transit time but also on the requirement of large physical locations to carry out businesses.