Some children find some particular school subjects difficult (for example maths or philosophy), so these subjects should be optional rather than compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few children consider some academic subjects harder to comprehend so there is a thought for discussion whether it would be better if these subjects were made optional. This essay disagrees with the aforesaid statement and will show why all of the basic subjects should be compulsory until senior school level. Basic know-how of all subjects is important and also the children need to have the ability to be able to make informed decisions regarding their future. Although some youngsters find maths and philosophy difficult, these subjects make an adolescent aware of different aspects which are useful later on. For example, learning multiplication in mathematics helps you calculate numbers and can help you verify a bill as sometimes you may not have a calculator or computer available. In addition, philosophy encourages deep thinking and logical reasoning in children which are both very important traits. Therefore, it should be mandatory to learn maths and philosophy. Children have an impressionable mind at a young age and they may not be able to make rational decisions by themselves. Once a youngster has familiarity and exposure to all the subjects, they would be in a better position to pursue the subject that they are interested in. Furthermore, exercises and experiments in academic institutes invoke creativity and thoughtfulness. For instance, youngsters are required to perform a practical in a laboratory which helps simulate real-life conditions. In conclusion, although some people think that a few subjects like maths and ideology should be optional, this essay disagrees with the said thought. Fundamental subjects should be compulsory until the senior school level as it is important to acquire their basic know-how, which, in turn, would help children in making better decisions regarding their future.