Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree of disagree with this opinion?

The proliferation of technology at an unprecedented rate has revolutionised virtually all the spheres of our lives leading some to believe that it has made us more gregarious. While it may hold true for our online interactions on various social media sites, it would be fallacious to think so for others. This essay will argue- using various examples. - why this claim is only partially correct. To begin with, though online platforms has facilitated communication it has done so at the cost of physical meetings. In the recent years, the number of people going out or interacting face to face has been constantly declining. One need not look further than one’s own home to observe this transformation: family memebers are hunched upon their mobile phones, or watching some show on the tv. While a child ideally used to go outdoors to play, now those games have been supplanted by video games which typically involves very little human interaction. Yet another reason why this claim is unwarranted is because verious social and pyschological studies have confirmed that there is an alarming decrease in human interaction. Indeed, it would be surprising to know that the very tools that were supposed to help us stay more connected has caused us to drift apart.Social media sites like facebook, twitter, and instagram have led us to become more and more isolated.While I conceed that the web as made it easier for the introverts to communicate, by and large the effect has been unfavourable To conclude, the claim is completely unwarranted as advancement in technology has had a counterintutive effect- rather than making world a global village it has turned a man into an island.