In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a tradition in Britain that makes elderly people stay in nursing homes where they are taken care of by caregivers. It is opined by some people that the authority in the country is supposed to pay for the caregiving, whereas others consider that the families should bear the expenses. I firmly believe that both the relatives of the elderlies and the government are to take care of the expenditure. In this essay, I will showcase the reasons for my opinion. First of all, a person who is old at the moment undoubtedly had many contributions to the lives of his/her family members in the past. For example, an individual almost always intends to financially support their children. Also, whenever their youngsters needed them at the time of deplorable health conditions, they most certainly did their best to show their cordial love for them. Therefore, it can be taken as an obligation for the blood relatives to provide them with necessities when they are helpless. Secondly, when it comes to the role of the governing committee of the country, it is undeniable that it has to work towards making the lives of the senior citizens convenient and peaceful. For instance, improving the quality of life of the entire nation is the ultimate goal of the leaders. Besides, people who are in need of support and care deserve to be treated well by the authorities. For this reason, the state has the responsibility to participate in the process of serving the elderly generation as well. Finally, there is no denying the fact that the veterans of a country are meant to be treated respectfully. In other words, everybody must take it in their hands to commit as much as they can so that the national bond becomes stronger. To conclude, it is the job of both the government and the family members to make respectable people's lives free of anxiety.