The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In recent years, there has been a tendency for contemporary people to access various information through technological products. I personally consider that this trend both have benefits and drawbacks. Suffice to note, the immediate and economical way of acquiring knowledge on the internet brings advantages to humanity to some extent. Due to the fast pace of working life, people are less likely to learn knowledge through traditional ways, such as reading books in the library or enrolling in courses, which are time-consuming and costly as well. Instead, the internet could avoid those drawbacks by using various tools. Take Google as an example; By typing your questions on this searching engine, a horde of answers could be clearly show on your phones with a second. This not only leads to highly studying or working efficiencies but also make the knowledge accessible for most of the people. On the other hand, there are several reasons why this convenient method would have disadvantages. Firstly, a part of i nformation on the internet are inaccurate as a result of the answers could be given by everyone, including those who are not quite professional. Therefore, people, especially who have no free time to check the reliability of i nformation, would easily be misled. In addition, people who heavily rely on this method tend to ignore the importance of reading books, participating in offline courses or asking help from authorities they know, which are also useful ways to get information. Consequently, they will lose the patience to spend time on exploring deep knowledge but only concentrate on a simple and fast answer on the network. To sum up, I do believe that computers and smartphones provide convenience for busy people to study. However, people should check the reliability of the sources and use some more professional studying tools as well.