In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the prevalence of the Internet and mobile phones, online communication and meetings are widely applied in a wide variety of workplaces. Some hold the belief that online communication hinders our interpersonal relationship with one another, while some maintain that it makes our work more effective. Given that online communication can reduce the risk of being infected with diseases and save time, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Online meetings can reduce the possibility of contracting diseases. Meeting face to face leads to a higher chance of physical contact, which is one of the common ways for bacteria to spread. According to recent research of the Hong Kong University, people contract coronavirus through touching. Online communication can minimize the chances of physical contact, so even if your colleagues are infected, it is not likely, if not impossible, for you to be affected. Online meetings can also save time. In a bid to meet face to face with your employers, you must take a ride to arrive at the office. Time is thus wasted. According to a survey conducted by the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong citizens devote 2-3 hours in transport every day on average. Online meetings can be organised regardless of your location, so time can be saved. Workers can utilize the time saved to take a break from their work, or spend some quality time with their friends and families. Having discussed that online communication can minimize the possibility of being infected and reduce time, I strongly believe that the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages. If online communication fully supplanted face -to- face meetings, our lives would be more convenient.