A 14-year-old young who seriously damaged school was made to clean streets as a punishment. Do you think young criminals should be sent to prison or there are alternative forms of punishment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A criminal mindset develops at an early age. Of late there are many instances of teenagers committing crimes, but a school of thought believes that punishment should not be limited to imprisonment, but there can be an alternative to it so child realises his mistake and doesn’t think of repeating the crime. In my opinion, sending a child to prison is not a valid sanction, as this will degrade him in the society which will make him do more crimes. Children are very sensitive and there is a way we should deal with them. If they have committed a crime like theft, we should make them realise the demerits for the same and teach them to not do it again, simultaneously they should be given some form of suffering like volunteering to help the old age people and disabled people to make them realise, the importance of giving rather than stealing things. Recently there are some serious crimes that have been committed by children, like homicide due to nonfulfillment of demands. Imprisonment in such cases is correct, but is it enough? It is definitely not, as we need to change the psychology of children, because they have a long life and they should be responsible towards the society and not harm people, due to not achieving their own targets. To conclude, there are different ways of punishing children and it totally depends on the crime they have committed. Sending them to prison cannot be a final solution, but a trial should make them empathic for society.