Some people think that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others, however, think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's world, exacerbating the health issues and poor lifestyle among people is a very serious issue due to this many governments around the world making some laws to restrict people to consume unhealthy food as many think that this is a ameliorate way to stop people whereas others perceive that individuals have the right to take a decision to pursue a healthy diet or not. I tend to agree that government plays an active role in ensuring that its citizens lead a healthy behaviour but I believe that it is the responsibility of people to follow the perfect diet's plan. On the one hand, many of the legislators across the world impose some laws concerning nutritious meal in an effort to have a healthier population to minimize the public health cost. Even this could be a good idea but it is very difficult to implement. To achieve this, the rulers could impose a heavy levy on the products which are not suitable for people and as a consequence, lead to various health ailments. In Italy, For instance, products such as carbonated sugary drinks and chips are heavily taxed to decrease the sale of these items in the grocery stores. As a result, many of them already are already stopped to consume these products because of the high amount. However, by making such laws, it could create dissatisfaction among local individuals. On the other side, since personal freedom is an extremely crucial human right, so a significant amount of people think that they should be responsible for foodstuff choices. Even though the government is done for the betterment of citizens but it creates a sense of resentment and as a consequence, it leads to some other public issues such as demonstrations and protest. So, it is the human decision to pursue a healthy behaviour or not. Furthermore, I also reckon that it is a personal choice and duty of individuals to follow a healthy and nutritious diet plan to lead a happy life. Besides this, the rulers can also play an important role by setting some examples of famous personalities so that people could influence them and follow the same path. As a result, these things help the public to make better decisions regarding meal consumption. To sum up, Although, governments are taking some measures to ensure people lead a healthy lifestyle, I think it is individual rights and they should know what is right or wrong for them and take decisions according to that.