Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Considering our frenetic world, many people are having very little recreation time. In fact, people are working more and more nowadays. While work is necessary in order to pay daily bills and have some comfort, leisure time is a safe path to keep a person healthy. Therefore, in my view, such style of life, with very little free time has significantly more disadvantages. On one hand, there are some advantages of working long hours, hence having a short free time. Firstly, considering that the worked amount is directly related to the amount of salary received, this money can provide you with pleasure, as you can buy things that you like, and give some comfort. For instance, many journals have pointed out that famous brand owners have worked more than 18 hours per day before the success of their brands. And another, this long hours can be seen with good eyes from your manager, and you might be able to get a promotion in your work. In fact, many argue that they work extra hours before getting a promotion. On the other hand, there is no money that can supply health, and this can be seen as the main advantage of leisure activities. Free time is not only related to the activities that are done but with the impact of this time in our body and mind. Many researchers have shown that 87% of stress-related problems involved those that work long hours. In addition, the advantage of leisure activities is that it is a way of spending time with your family. Although some of them might have costs, it is possible to find those that are free and you can only enjoy the time as you want, without thinking about money. As an example, many cities have community centres, where families can go with their children in order to do some leisure activities. To summarise, long hours of work and privation of leisure activities might be a temptation option, as it can improve your way of living, its impact on a person’s health, in my opinion, is the considerable drawback of this action and should be avoided.