Walking is known to be beneficial for health but these days the number of people walking has reduced a lot. what are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Walking present a substantial amount of energy to keep one's well-being in check. However, there is a constant decrease in the number of people adopting to walk. This is mainly because of busy city life and heavy traffic on the roads, which needs to be addressed in a  proper manner by creating pathways for people and encouraging them to utilize. In this essay, we will discuss in detail about why's and possible rectification for the problem. Walking can be challenging considering the commotion in the streets, where roads are very narrow and the same part is been shared by other vehicles as well. It can be pretty dangerous and the surrounding might not be ideal for a stroll, taking pollution into consideration. For example, during the month monsoon season in my state, roads are filled with potholes which makes it impossible to walk distances. In addition, people are very busy with their corporate life and they want to save time on their commute. Most of the offices have in time and the employees have to make sure that they are here to the timing stipulated. That's why people refrain from walking and try to offer other modes of transport. In my opinion, there are some possible solutions to handle this problem. Firstly, creating separate lanes for people to walk around the city and investing in making recreational parks around the town for the people to benefit. Secondly, government and corporate organization will have to work closely to encourage their staff to walk to work. For instance, they can ask the workers to download an app that can count the steps they take overall during the day and make a record for a month and reward who outdid everyone else. To summarise, walking should be promoted for its health benefits, as few people prefer walking nowadays. As there are no proper roads assigned and less importance is given to walking. That's why more emphasis from the government and the companies should be given to address this matter.